Production

The Challenge: Week 3

This was the final week of my dress challenge. This week I finalized two more dresses, and with $$ still being the issue and being unable to purchase the fabric for the last five dresses, I decided to create some top variations of the dresses in the collection for myself, but also as looks to add to the collection.

more embellishments for dresses and tops in the collection

I sketched four tops and created three this week. I’m excited to wear the tops! I love the excitement of the first fittings, whether it be for myself or the first time seeing a garment on a model. It’s a great feeling to see the process of sketch, fabric and pattern drafting, which are all 2 dimensional, come together and create a wearable garment, and when it fits just like the sketch its the best feeling!

first fitting…love this top!
Can’t wait to wear this one!- first fitting…

more simplistic than the kimono dress
so comfortable!

Although I didn’t meet the challenge, I can say this was a great experience, it really got me moving to finish the collection. With eight dress and three tops complete , I feel like the stress and overwhelming sense of work I had sitting on my shoulders is relieved. I also know that I can finish the remaining garments within a short time-span (most likely before the end of February), and get to the fun stuff like a look book shoot and two upcoming shows in March.

 

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN
Leave a Reply

