Production

Look Book-behind the scenes

So this week I was able to shoot by first look book! It was such a wonderful experience and one that wouldn’t have been possible without some very talented people. When thinking of this collection I was inspired by women in my life who have been “the life” of the parties I have attended (in a past post I talked about Cruela DeVille and the duality of black,white,red,and stripes, all of which funneled into the thoughts of these energetic and fun women). In looking back on my twenties (my 30th birthday was last month) I can say I’ve had some great times and each dress and top in this collection is a reflection of  the women who have made my memories and nights out so memorable. I’ve named the dress or top after the lady it was inspired by, so they know they have a space in my memories, and now a piece in this collection.

Once I knew I needed to shoot a look book for this collection, there was one photographer in particular that I knew I wanted to work with. I knew he would be able to capture the essence of the fun and flirty party girl, without making the image of the model seem wild and “young”.  His name is Conor Doherty and his images are beautiful and just striking, when I emailed him and he said he was on board, I was ecstatic!

After securing the photographer, I knew exactly which model to ask, not just about this collection, but for her to be the face of my brand for the upcoming year. Her name is Caroline Reddy, and truly her images speak for themselves, but beyond her look, she is a great girl who is fun, energetic, and humble.

Caroline {photo by Tess j Photography}

As a no brainer for styling I went to Felicia Verry-Mota of Spanish Fly Apparel & Styling. Felicia styled my Boston Fashion Week show, and she is constantly on top of the current trends, and is an amazing stylist. For Make-up I enlisted the talent and expertise of Angelique Wigfall, owner and lead make-up artist, of  A.B.W. Couture Cosmetics. I’ve known Angelique for many years and was so happy to see another talented woman from the same place I had grown up, making things happen in the fashion industry. The last piece of talent I had to find was a hairstylist. I was lucky enough to find the services of Stylist Kyra Hunter, I was new to working with her, but her reputation spoke for itself, this year she is nominated for Hair Stylist of the Year by the Boston Fashion Awards.

The day of the shoot, I was so excited to get everyone together and make the vision and ideas that Felicia and I had discussed reality.

Here are some behind the scenes pics of the shoot…look book pics coming soon!

The Space
from the balcony
the looks
possible shoe and hat selections
accessories provided by the private collection of Ruth Fuller
Cruz enjoying the nice weather while we wait for hair/make-up to be complete
cool suburban house Conor showed us, the owner had it relocated to the top of an industrial building in the city, lawn and all!
Angelique setting up her make-up station
Kyra at work on the intricate bun for the shoot
Hair complete! Came out wonderful!
Angelique’s workstation all set up
creating the look for the shoot
sneak peek…Caroline in one of the tops for the collection – name to be revealed soon
Sneak peek- Caroline in the “Brookelynn” top for the “Life of the Party” Collection

 

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN
4 thoughts on “Look Book-behind the scenes

  1. So happy for you in all of your success. Also, so happy to know that I am a part of your memories. Love my dress! Can’t wait to wear one! You always have been and you always will be amazing! 😉

  2. I’m really excited to see your lookbook! loved reading about how it came together and grateful to see the names of all the wonderful people who collaborated with you on this first lookbook effort. the model is beautiful, her hair looks amazing and I’m really excited to see the clothes !!!

Leave a Reply

