Fashion Shows

Catwalk for BMC Cancer Care- 21 days to go

This year, I have the great honor to be a designer in the OpenHearts Inc.   Catwalk for BMC Cancer Care.  Last year while in D.C. I remember reading about the Catwalk for a Cure event, and thinking it would be a wonderful event to participate in. So naturally when founder and coordinator, BryanFinocchio, extended the offer for me to design a small collection for the show I was more than ready to accept the offer.

Catwalk for BMC Cancer Care is a charity event being held Thursday, June 28th at the State Room in Boston. The show will feature six designers, all whom have been assigned a color to create their collection from. The colors represent a form of cancer. The models featured in the show are a mix of professional models and cancer survivors as well as BMC staff. I’m excited to create dresses for women who have survived cancer, as well as those who work diligently to provide care to patients daily.

The color I was assigned was purple. It represents Pancreatic Cancer. For the show I decided to create 5 garments, all with turquoise and white accent details. I was lucky enough to enlist the help of two amazing seamstresses, Phylis and Lisa, both ladies are professional seamstresses, who create amazing home decor and garments for clients throughout New England. What made this even more meaningful is the fact that Phylis is a breast cancer survivor. When I explained the event to her she was happy to be helping to create looks for other survivors.

This past Wednesday I got to team up with stylist Felicia Verry Mota again, for model fittings. I have two models, Yulia and Abigael, both of whom were very sweet, and looking forward to walking in the show. Yulia is a Russian model, who has been modeling for fun in the United States for two years, and Abigael is a model who hails from my hometown in Cape Cod. We both laughed at what a small world it was. My survivors are Grace, Patti, and Jacki. Jacki was the first to have her fitting, and after talking with her, we have eliminated the idea of a dress and are going for a casual pant outfit. It’s important to me that each woman feels amazing in the designs I create for them. Grace was the next survivor to arrive and her fun and positive personality was infectious! We had such great conversation about life and strength, and I can’t wait to see her strut her stuff on the runway in her ruffled party dress. My last fitting was with Patti, and when I saw her natural model height and proportions, I knew my original sketch was out the window, and I was going to get the opportunity to create a maxi dress that I’ve had in mind for a while.

sneak peek of the linen romper for model Yulia
sneak peek of Grace’s party dress

So I’m going to be doing a lot of sewing in the weeks to come, but for a great cause and some wonderful women.

 

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN
One thought on “Catwalk for BMC Cancer Care- 21 days to go

Leave a Reply

