A Mary Jane Dress

While still in MassArt and creating the Smartie Candy dress, I had also sketched a dress that I wanted to created out of Mary Jane candy wrappers. I’m excited to say that this October, the dress will no longer be a sketch! Or should I say the sketch will finally become a wearable art piece.

The ‘g’ Green Design Center in Mashpee, MA is celebrating their 5th anniversary, and have decided to mark the occassion with a recyclables show entitled REMADE. All artists featured in the exhibit will be showing work that has been recycled, reclaimed, or made from reused material. Since I had shown my Smartie candy dress at the design center at their very first exhibit, I thought this would be a great time to submit the Mary Jane dress. I submitted the sketch above along with samples of the manipulated Mary Jane wrappers, so the jury could visualize what the final piece would look like.

Once I recieved the confirmation email that I had been selected to be in the show on Friday October 12th, I knew I had a lot of work to do:

I ordered five 6.5 lb bags of Mary Janes. In total each bag had about 310 candies. With the help of some patient co-workers, we began the task of unwrapping all 1,550 candies.

20121019-150135.jpg

Once I had all the candies unwrapped I started cutting, taping and manipulating the wrappers into the textiles needed to first create the bodice then the skirt of the piece.

20121019-185337.jpg

20121019-185353.jpg

20121019-185404.jpg

It took about three days to create the textiles that would become the two portions of the dress, and two days to construct the wearable art piece.

20121019-185720.jpg

20121019-185739.jpg

20121019-185801.jpg

20121019-185833.jpg

If you are in the area, feel free to stop by the “g” Green Design Center in Mashpee, MA from October 12th – Novemeber 24th to see the dress on display.

 

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN
2 thoughts on “A Mary Jane Dress

Leave a Reply

