Photoshoot

About a year back I participated in a Twitter chat group about the book “The Help”. The chat was hosted by The DC Ladies with a prize given away by Stella and Dot rep. Rene Kauder. At the end of the week, I was notified that I had won the Stella and Dot bracelet. I emailed Rene to thank her for the gift and we began talking fashion. I asked her if for my Spring collection she would like to collaborate and showcase Stella and Dot as well. Rene was on board!

Once the collection was complete I started to scout photographers, hair and make-up and model. I automatically looked to Heidi Vail, an amazing photographer that I know personally, but who also worked on one of my first projects with me. Heidi has recently been blessed with an adorable little boy, and had to pass on the demands of the shoot. She sent me names of four photographers that she felt would work for the concept I was thinking of. When looking at the possible, I saw the work of Thuy Pham and knew I wanted to work with her. Thuy agreed to collaborate, and I was on to hair and make-up.

The date of the shoot was in conflict with a major trade show in Boston, and I was hitting road blocks at all angles as far as schedules were concerned. I managed to book a local hairstylist named Alexandria Gomes, and  A.B.W. couture’s Angelique Wigfall for make-up. I reached out to fabulous model Caroline Reddy, and was excited to know her schedule was open.

All was set, and then the unexpected March weather hit and the snow and rain came for two days. The shoot was originally scheduled for a Saturday, but Boston was getting hammered with snow. On Thursday I called Thuy and we agreed that the shoot should be rescheduled to Sunday. I first talked to Caroline, she was unavailable for Sunday. I was a bit panicked and knew I had to find a model. I went on Facebook and started to send out messages to potential models I knew would fit the concept of the shoot and would be able to fill Caroline’s shoes. Model, Stacie Waleyko, was one of the first models I reached out to, and amazingly she was available!

Model Stacie Waleyko

Model Stacie Waleyko

I then called Alex, and Anqelique. Alex was available, but Angelique was not. So because it was such a short time frame, I called the local Sephora and set up a make-up session for Sunday.  Lastly, I touched base with Rene, who was traveling from Maryland, and made sure she was okay to travel. I also let her know the weather conditions whenever I heard of a change. By Saturday afternoon, all was set.

On Sunday Rene and her assistant Becky arrived first with all of the Stella and Dot accessories. Rene had coordinated the accessories based on color and outfit. Her organization was impeccable. When Stacie arrived, we all exchanged introductions and then headed to Sephora to get make-up done. The make-up artist, Kelly Streeter, was great to work with, she understood I had a specific vision and constantly kept me in the loop.

Rene and Becky getting accessories matched

Rene and Becky getting accessories matched

image (20)

photo (1)

When we returned to the house, Alexandria and her assistant/sister Kayla were there and set up for hair. Alex was quick and precise with her styling.  While she styled, Thuy, her assistant and myself scouted the exact locations for the shoot.

image (18)

image (17)

First location of the day

First location of the day

With everything in order, the eight of us headed to the first location.

image (13)

image (14)

image (12)

Some of the accessories for the shoot

Some of the accessories for the shoot

After some great shots, it was on to the next location

image (15)

There was a lot of outfit changes in the car.

There was a lot of outfit changes in the car.

image (9)

Our last location was on the beach at sunset.

Thuy and her assistant hard at work

Thuy and her assistant hard at work

image (4)

Alex touching up hair

Alex touching up hair

Last shot of the day

Last shot of the day

Did I mention it was 32 degrees out?  Stacie and everyone involved did amazing.

 

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN
One thought on “Photoshoot

Leave a Reply

