Quilting: the next project

Since becoming pregnant, I have an overwhelming need to be organized and have everything that was on my long-term “to-do” list done. So this weekend after having both shows I mentioned in previous posts under my belt and started to unwind, I decided to tidy up my sewing studio and one of the major things to do was to go through my fabric and pattern inventory.

Five hours later I had accumulated four piles of fabric that I could no longer use. In thinking about ways to incorporate my soon to be daughter into my current lifestyle and career, I though it would be great to use some of this extra fabric and scraps that made up so many of my previous collections or wearable art pieces and create home goods and baby clothing for her.

My first endeavor is going to be my first throw blanket/quilt. I’m going to use the fabrics from my Isabella Blow inspired series to create a black and white quilt. I found a great blog called Sew Mama Sew with some great instructional posts about quilting and crafts.

EQMIITriangleBlockMiniQuilt1

Last night I cut the squares for the quilt. In the next few weeks I should have it complete and a full post about it.

image (11)

 

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN
Leave a Reply

