Crafting FAIL!

So in July I had cleaned out my sewing studio and decided to create my first quilt. In coming up with this idea I assumed that quilting was a lot like design, and that this would be a great endeavor for me, not one too far from what I love to do.

Boy was I wrong!  Quilting is a very accurate almost mathematical art form (me and math have never been a good mix). It’s a time-consuming craft that has many repetitive parts. All of that said it’s now almost the beginning of September and I’ve only got three rows of so many rows completed and sewn. The rows are not perfect and my squares aren’t completely in line…it’s fair to say quilting is not for me.

I admire and have so much respect for quilters, the precision, patience and creativity involved is amazing and not for everyone. Myself being one of them.

Below are the steps I got done in the month of July…

Organizing the pre-cut triangles

Organizing the pre-cut triangles

Pinning all of the tirangles to become the squares for the pattern on the quilt

Pinning all of the triangles to become the squares for the pattern on the quilt

sewing all of the triangles into squares

sewing all of the triangles into squares

ironing all the squares and trimming bulk seams

ironing all the squares and trimming bulk seams

laying out the general pattern of the quilt

laying out the general pattern of the quilt

And this is where I stopped in August and haven’t had the momentum to continue…

five rows of the quilt sewn together

three rows of the quilt sewn together, the rest just pinned

At some point I would love to finish this piece, but I think I learned a great lesson with this project. Not every crafting or fiber art project is going to be appealing to me just because I design clothing. My admiration and love for a great quilt or throw doesn’t mean I will love creating one. Lesson learned; so time to take this project off the floor of the studio and add it to the “experimental projects” drawer.

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN
Leave a Reply

