Wardrobe Malfunction

In my last stage of pregnancy, I had a little bit of change in my thinking. As I’m sure a lot of mothers-to-be feel, I wanted to have all loose ends tied up for the baby, but also I began to think of the image I wanted my daughter to have of me. I know that when I was younger I loved seeing my mother get ready for work. She always had the best clothes and I was always intrigued with how she put an outfit together. Of course as  I grew older and got into the “cape cod casual” slump of middle school and high school, I relied more on jeans and t-shirts and jeans and sweaters to make it through the seasons. And unfortunately besides my “club clothes” of college and my early twenties not much about that casual style had changed.

Jeans and a tee are pretty everyday for me

Jeans and a tee are pretty everyday for me

Even as a designer I find myself so involved in the production process of running ENAMOUR, that many times I put my own image to the side.

I do wear my designs and love being in them

I do wear my designs and love being in them

But sometimes I fall back into the slump of pants and a top but in a dull way (could easily be in jeans and a tee in this pic)

But sometimes I fall back into the slump of pants and a top but in a dull way (could easily be in jeans and a tee in this pic)

Now as a woman who recently has had a child and remembering how awestruck I was of my own mother, I want my daughter to feel the same about me. So over the past months I’ve taken inventory of my wardrobe, got a bunch of styling books and did a huge overhaul of my closet- right down to my shoes. I decided the staples pieces I needed in my wardrobe (both winter and summer), I thought of the look I wanted for my summers and winters and I started to think of the styles and cuts of clothing that really complimented my figure and what I’ve felt great wearing in the past. Obviously because I’m a designer, this was not an overhaul  or excuse for me to hit the mall and online shopping sites, it was a moment for me to design for myself. To take time to think of the things I would want and how my own design style  could shine through in a variety of looks for my wardrobe, (besides just the pieces I wear from my own  ENAMOUR collections). So I created a custom summer and winter collection for myself. And starting this month I will be creating one or two pieces  here and there as a celebration of my first steps into motherhood! Here are the first few pieces I’ve created.  The first is a refashioned top from my pregnancy, since I’m still losing weight from my pregnancy this top, taken in and shorter, is comfortable and more my style.

Baby shower top

Baby shower top

 

Before

Before

image (3)

After

After

 

Faux leather details and a shortened hem line

Faux leather details and a shortened hem line

The second top is a new design, a light knit boat neck top with a relaxed fit.

Oversized knit chevron top to wear over tanks

Oversized knit chevron top to wear over tanks

The next two tops were refashioned from tops I’ve worn in previous years. Now that I’m older the designs of these tops can still compliment my changing style with a few adjustments.

Old halter top before

Old halter top before

After

After

I removed the embellishment and gathered the excess fabric asymmetrically

I removed the embellishment and gathered the excess fabric asymmetrically

Comfortable tank before

Comfortable tank before

But these embellishments have to be moved

But these embellishments have to be moved

After: I created a sleeker back while keeping the front the same

After: I created a sleeker back while keeping the front the same

I’m working on redesigning  two dresses and a few new designs and will post the results soon…

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN

Leave a Reply

