Personal

Wardrobe Malfunction: Part 2

This month proved to be a month of tying up loose ends. I took inventory of my sewing studio and decided to finish revamping items from my wardrobe.

 

Red Dress
Red Dress

I bought and wore this dress just once to an event a long while ago. For the event the length (below the knee) was appropriate, but not something I would wear regularly. Trying it on this time around I realized that a tunic would suit me best for the summer, to be comfortable, but not in a t-shirt. So I’ve cut the length and created a top out of this dress.

Red Dress now a Red Top
Red Dress now a Red Top

 

Black Dress front
Black Dress front
Black dress back
Black dress back

This is one of my favorite dresses. It is flattering to my figure and still a little sexy. After seeing the cutout trend last summer and knowing this dress could easily translate the trend without me designing a new piece. I decided to close the back and extend the bottom opening of the dress to the front. A simple switch that will allow this dress to really seem transformed.

Black dress back: After
Black dress back: After

 

Black dress: After
Black dress: After

 

Striped Top
Striped Top

This was a simple top that wasn’t really my style when I purchased it. I have worn it once and hated the halter style. I love the stripe pattern, but figured if I eliminated the straps altogether, this would allow me to dress the top up or down and make it less casual.

Striped Top: After
Striped Top: After

 

Geena beach cover up
Geena beach cover up

I absolutely love this piece! It wasn’t a top seller and just this Spring the fabric was discontinued. Realizing this piece couldn’t be duplicated and wanting to be able to wear it past just its’ Resort purpose, I shortened the top to create a top that can now be a sheer overlay tunic with a sloped hem.

Geena beach cover up: After
Geena beach cover up: After
Geena beach cover up: After
Geena beach cover up: After

 

Just as I thought all of my revamping was done until winter rolls around, Cruz found a few pairs of pants that I don’t wear often and suggested I turn them into bottoms I would wear. I’m up for the challenge! Stay tuned for the third installment of my wardrobe malfunction.

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN

2 thoughts on “Wardrobe Malfunction: Part 2

  1. Hi, i love how you have shown the before and after photos of your wardrobe creations. Keep up the good work. I can’t wait to read more. It gives me inspiration and ideas.

    Mei

Leave a Reply

