Fashion Events

“You Are What You Wear”

This summer I sent my bio, resume and images of my candy dresses to the Rice Gallery in Mashpee, Cape Cod with hopes that they would have space to exhibit my dresses. I was surprised when the owner of the gallery called to say that she  found the dresses so inspiring and that she wanted to know if I would be interested in having them in an exhibit based solely around wearable art. Of course I said yes, and I decided this was the perfect time to make a new dress.

For the past few years I have been the Upcycle Coordinator for  BumBoosa Bamboo Products, so I have quite a bit of baby wipe packaging and I figured it would be a great idea to make a dress entirely out of the packaging.

A tote bag I made from baby wipe packaging
A tote bag I made from baby wipe packaging

 

Mireya and I with the baby wipes and rosette headbands
Mireya and I with the baby wipes and custom headbands for a shoot.

I knew for this dress I wanted to incorporate texture and color. So my first idea was to make scales with the packaging. As I started cutting the individual scales, my husband suggested playing off all the green tones in the packaging, so I decided to make an ombre dress. It would start dark green and fade out to white. I spent a few days just cutting scales in the multiple colors.  I also thought a pop of color was necessary, so I used the baby wipe sample packaging and incorporated the orange banner of text into a striped pattern for the collar of the dress and used it as a decorative element for the top of the dress.

Beginning of the ombre technique.
Beginning of the ombre technique.

 

Portions o the bodice I decided to weave,
Portions of  the bodice I decided to weave.

 

Striped patterned collar and the woven bodice
Striped patterned collar and the woven bodice

 

I chose a sleeker silhouette than I have in the past and decided on an A line fitted form. I wanted the texture and attention to detail to stand out more than the dress silhouette itself. After the dress was done I decided to dress it up with a woven clutch made entirely from baby wipe packaging and a rolled bead bracelet (my husband put the bracelet together) using baby wipe packaging to create all the beads.

 

Full look
Full look

 

IMG_1367
detail of the Clutch and bracelet

 

The dresses will be on display at the Rice Gallery starting this weekend until November 22nd. Below are some other artist’s work that will be on display as well:

Coat made from Dryer sheets and dyed using tea
Coat made from Dryer sheets and dyed using tea

 

Silk pieced Jackets
Silk pieced Jackets

 

Hand woven shawls, scarves and throws
Hand woven shawls, scarves and throws

 

Patterned textiles
Patterned textiles

 

If you are on Cape Cod I hope you’ll be able to attend.

IMG_1482

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN

Leave a Reply

