Interviews

A Model Life

 When transitioning into creating accessories, I knew that just because my creative path was changing, that didn’t mean my need for great models would come to an end. One thing I did was reach out to models I’ve known in the past and asked if they’d like to wear our earrings and help with a more viral campaign, to help build awareness of the brand. Deanna Thomas was a trailblazer for us, and I will be talking more about her in the future. But most recently I’ve had the pleasure to work with  Jena Seiber. Jena is going to be the face of our earring line as we grow and I was excited to be able to interview her about what motivates, inspires and keeps her striving towards her dream.

 

When did you know you wanted to model?

Ever since I was a little girl I’ve always wanted to model. Every time someone pulled out a camera, I definitely was not shy. Pictures are my favorite ways to capture memories, and when I started modeling I wanted my portfolio to tell a story. It was not until I graduated high school that I started reaching out to different agencies and photographers. When I am in front of the camera I feel like a different person. With the support of family and friends I was able to pursue a career.

14525108_10210423036552963_1934036851829326293_o

What made you take the leap into being represented by an agency and how hard was it to find an agency you liked?

I definitely wanted to wait until I was out of high school to take the leap and find an agency. The struggle I had, was finding out who I was as a person, and because of that my confidence level was not strong enough to pursue such a big step. A few years later I was more confident in myself as a young woman and worked hard to apply to different agencies. I went to many casting calls, always nervous that my biggest fear of rejection would come true, and that is exactly what happened. It wasn’t until a few months ago that I found a modeling agency in Rhode Island as well as an agency in Boston to represent me. I believed in myself and even though there were agencies that declined me, I kept pushing myself and never gave up.

What has been one of the most fun experiences you’ve had so far modeling?

I recently walked in Fashion Week RI, and that was one of the most exciting weeks of my modeling career thus far. I walked for 3 different designers. The casting calls for each show was exactly like you see on T.V. I walked for a panel of judges. The judges have to like your walk, your pace, and your look. I was luckily picked and walked in front of hundreds of people at the Providence G ballroom. It felt like a dream.

What is the toughest part of modeling?

One of the toughest parts of modeling is being declined. One of the most memorable quotes I learned as a child was “Never judge a book by its cover”. Unfortunately, modeling is just that. Designers and directors are selecting you based on your physical appearance and if you don’t have exactly what they are looking for at that time, you are declined for the job.

What is your dream job/ campaign to work on?

My dream job would be to become a Victoria Secret Angel. I follow all of the VS models on social media, as well as the photographers. I truly feel that those girls are living a dream that I would love to be apart of. As far as campaigns, I would love to be the face and spokesperson of a makeup line like as Covergirl, L’Oreal, or Maybelline. I currently worked for PUMA and was ecstatic. I am excited to see what my future has in store for me.

Who is your favorite model past or present?

Adriana Lima is my absolute favorite model. She is best known as a Victoria Secret model and she is also a spokes model for Maybelline. I look up to her in so many ways and I aspire to have a career like hers. When photographers want to book shoots, I use her as inspiration, while throwing my own twist in, to capture the perfect photo.

Beyond modeling what else are you passionate about?

I am very passionate about school. I currently study at Rhode Island College, as well as modeling and working as a waitress/hostess in Providence. Although I may have a tough time juggling everything, I’m happy to say that school is just as important to me as modeling.In 2 years I will be able to say that I have a Bachelors Degree in Health Science with a concentration in Human Service. I find time to go to school Monday-Friday while still working and pursuing my passion as a model.

Since I am a designer we do have to talk fashion- What is your favorite clothing era and why?

My favorite clothing era would be the 90’s. Fashion became more feminine and form-fitting, which is more of my style today. Clothes that I wear on a day to day basis really represent this era, and have become a major part of my wardrobe.

What advice would you give someone wanting to break into the industry?

If you want it, go for it; and don’t let anyone tell you differently! If you are as passionate about modeling as I am, you are not going to let anyone tell you differently. You will work hard to get where you want to be. No matter what job comes my way, I always want better for myself, and that is the only way to succeed. I also have a huge network of support. There’s no better feeling than having people believe in you as much as you believe in yourself.

Be sure to follow our Instagram page this month to see Jena’s Takeover. She’ll give us a peek into what it takes to be a model.

 

*Don’t have enough time to read through our blog posts? Join our VIP List to get monthly updates and links to the latest blog posts monthly: JOIN

Leave a Reply

